Grow!

Being a Mommy!

Ever feel this way? I did for a little bit, but God taught me a lot.. read on! :)
Ever feel this way? I did for a little bit, but God taught me a lot.. read on! 🙂

PLEASE NOTE: I am not a mommy.

But a few weeks ago, I got a good taste of what it meant to be a mommy and what her duties include! My parents went away on a much deserved week long vacation to Mexico, so I was home with my younger brother, who is 15, for the time being. It was really a good growing experience for me. Let me tell you why:

1. I was busy beyond compare. This meant that I could not be lazy. It was weird having to work around 2 people’s schedules and fit in everything that needed to get done. I didn’t realize everything that my mom was in charge of, besides her own life!

2. I had to learn to love another person when there is only 2 of you. This was by far the hardest. I love my brother, but I did not realize how much work goes into loving someone in the way you treat them. I was confronted with challenges of my pride, and wanting to prove that I’m right and he was wrong (which obviously wasn’t always true). The first half of the week, I was struggling with treating my brother with kindness even when he was very kind to me. I think it was good preparation for what life will be like with a roommate in college!

3. i was forced to be organized! I have a calendar and I try to stay on top of things, but that week, I really had to work extra hard to stay up to date. I had to make a to-do list almost everyday at school of what needed to get done for school, around the house, extra-curricular activities, meals, and church things. I was never bored because I felt like there was always something to do. Whether it was dishes, homework, show choir practice, or dinner with our neighbors, I was stretched to the limit. But in a good and challenging way!

4. I had to work on having a good attitude. I can easily have a bitter attitude or sad heart. But we have joy found in Jesus, and I need to learn to live in that mindset more often. After having a pity party for myself the first half of the week, I decided it was time to stop being lonely, and get stuff done. I felt like the rest of the week went so much smoother, and I know that it was because I also had people praying for me. Prayer is powerful and I think God used it mightily in this case.

I’ll be honest, it was really fun to “be a mommy” for a week and I would so do it again! I’m excited to be able to look back later in life and see how God is already preparing my heart for motherhood or whatever else He calls me too. What event has God placed in your life recently to teach you something? Please share with me! I love personal testimonies.

To all my already dedicated fans, I love you.

Love, Em

2 thoughts on “Being a Mommy!

  1. Hi Emily! This was really special and I loved reading it. By the way, there was no doubt in my mind that you would handle the situation very well. You did a great job and will someday make an awesome mom. Big hugs and kisses to you! Grams

Leave a Reply

