Grow! · Santiago, Chile

The place that started it all.

Hello again friends!

Last month, I had the privilege of speaking at Lake Lundgren Bible Camp as the missionary speaker. It was an honor to share with them about the past missions trips I have gone on and now my future, heading to Chile! I loved every minute of my time there. I also had the opportunity to catch up with some amazing people and left so encouraged. I pray that God worked in the hearts of those middle-schoolers and hopefully will encourage all of them to do missions right where they are at.

emily missionary speaker

To express my thanks to this wonderful place, I decided to write a letter:

Dear Lake Lundgren,

Wow. So many years, memories, growth, love, laughs. I can’t believe that you have only been a part of my life for 11 years.

When I came to Lake Lundgren in 2006, I didn’t know the relationship that would form. I wasn’t even a born-again Christian, and now I am going to be a foreign missionary. That first year, I remember having so much fun and learning a lot and even feeling some conviction about things that were not right in my life. It was the start of something good.

The second year, by God’s grace, I got saved! Who knew that night, when I cried out to God for forgiveness that my life would change so much and for eternity! I sure didn’t.

There is so much you have taught me….

  1. The basics of Christianity – lived out. From being a camper to being on staff, I saw the other staff up close serving, loving, and wrestling with tough questions about God. I learned the fundamentals of Christianity and more fully understood them. Things like humility, love, grace.
  2. Servanthood. I learned this most when I came on staff myself. You are required to give more than you think you can. Watching the other staff has always challenged me to grow in this.
  3. Leadership and confidence. When I got saved at age 12, I would have had no confidence to stand in front of a group of 80+ people to talk about missions, but now I do. I would not have had the confidence to co-lead a team of college aged students serving God, but now I do. I would not have had the confidence to tell people about Jesus, but now I do. All the time that I spent at Lake Lundgren stretched me out of my comfort zone and shaped me. I am eternally grateful for this!
  4. A passion for the gospel. When you hear the gospel every week of the summer, see it transform peoples’ lives, and get to share it over and over again, it’s exciting!! The more you talk about Jesus the more you want to talk about Him. I love the gospel… it brings me the most joy and peace.
  5. A heart for missions. Lake Lundgren was the first place that taught me about missions. Since around the time I got saved, I was interested in doing missions. But I always felt unqualified. However, the desire for missions has remained all this time and now…. I get to act on it by going to Chile! But I owe a huge part of my desire for doing God’s mission work to LLBC.

Besides all of these wonderful things, Lake Lundgren was where I first learned about ABWE (the organization I am going to Chile through). And now I leave for Chile in 13 days…

Lake Lundgren, thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You will forever hold a special place in my heart. And IIIIIIIIIeeeeeIIIIII will always love you (ooh ooh ooh).

With all my heart,

Em Krop

refindem queen

Leave a Reply

